Home » Bible Study » Just Listen

Just Listen

A gossip betrays a confidence; so avoid a man who talks too much.

~Proverbs 20:19

It is so hard not to gossip sometimes. It’s so easy to get caught up in the conversation and before you realize it you are part of the gossip. But I don’t know that I have ever thought of it as a betrayal. I think back to high school and gossip was such a part of daily life. College too…and sadly, even in the workplace. I find we just talk without concern of who it can hurt. Rumors are hard to squash.

This bible versus reminded me to watch my mouth, but something I heard on the radio today reminded me that I don’t always listen.

The story went something like this….

Rules: The bus driver doesn’t count. No use of pen and paper.

Bus driver picks up 9 people, next stop, 3 people get off, 2 get on, next stop, 5 get off, 2 get on, next stop, 4 get off, 3 get on, last stop, 2 get off, 3 get on.

I knew the answer…except the question had nothing to do with how many people are on the bus! I was so sure I knew what the question would be that I only paid attention to the number of people–instead of just listening. I need to stop presuming what He is telling me, and listen to what He is telling me.

Leave a Reply

