Home » Bible Study » What I Need

What I Need

In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans.
~ Romans 8:26

I really had to stop and think about that verse, and each time I did, I found it was saying something different to me. When I first read it, I could only focus on the word weakness. It’s a scary word in itself, at least for me personally. It very definition states that one is lacking, or possibly inadequate or has a defective quality.

But I struggled over the week with the first part of the next sentence: “We do not know what we ought to pray for,”

I was always under the impression we were to pray for anything and everything. It doesn’t matter…God wants us to pray for it all…meaning God isn’t to big to hear even the tiniest of prayers.  So that seems almost a contradiction to me. Is what we pray for not what we should be praying for?

Or, maybe I am the contradiction because I feel some of what I want I shouldn’t pray for because it is way to small in the scheme of what others need…so I don’t. Well…if that isn’t a huge mistake in itself…trying to PRIORITIZE the size of prayers God wants to hear. Thus the last part of that verse…”but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans.”

Intercedes for me because I have no idea what it is that I need!

And it was when I started thinking along this line, I realized it was okay to not know or understand the need because the Spirit will present my needs to God for me.  And it didn’t make me weak for not knowing, but rather stronger because in my weakness, I am learning to depend on God for those needs…especially for those that I just don’t know I truly need.

I’m not sure if that is a freeing thought in that I just don’t need to worry about it…it’s taken care of for me. But what I realized is that allows me to focus on the things I truly know I need because without them, I am nothing.

I need Jesus. He is my one true Savior.

I need God and His word. I am His child and His word provides my guidance.

I need the Holy Spirit to intercede on my behalf, for I am too weak.

It’s pretty clear what I need. And even more reassuring is knowing that when I am not sure of that need, it’s already asked for on my behalf.

Dear God, I know that I am weak and so dependent on You, yet I try day in and day out to fulfill my own needs because I think I can do it on my own. Help me to understand that it is not for me to understand, but rather to simply trust what You already know. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

3 thoughts on “What I Need

  1. Totally awesome post! YES! He DOES know what we need regardless of if we have the words or not. I am so blessed to “meet you” in the P31 small group, and to have found your blog!

  2. Awesome post! How wonderful that we are free to open our hearts to Him, knowing He knows full well what we need. As for what you said about asking for little things… I understand where you are coming from. I often think, “How does this compare to that big need that someone else has?” But then I read somewhere… every problem is small to God, because He is infinite and big. Finding my keys, while a small problem, is still a problem… and helping someone grieving, while in no comparison to us, is just a problem to Him, because He is that big. I’m so glad I serve such an awesome God!

Leave a Reply

