Home » Bible Study » Verse Mapping

Verse Mapping

It’s week two of my Bible Study and something new for me that many in this study do (and it’s encouraged) is to verse map. Simply meaning, break down the verse and see how it speaks to you.

I am not one to write in my bible, and when I write out my verse cards, I like to keep them clean. That being said, I verse mapped in my journal using different colors, boldness, italics, and underlining, but still felt I needed more of a visual, so I actually marked up my verse card. I was amazed at how I just took off with it!

This weeks verse:

“You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.” Jeremiah 29:13

First, I simply replace “YOU” with my actual name, and “ME” with God. And that looks like this!

Jayne will seek God and find God when Jayne seek(s) God with all Jayne’s heart.

Seek and find stand out to me, so, I wanted to see other definitions of each word. And those would be as follows:

  • seek: search for, try to find, look for, be on the lookout for, be after, hunt for, be in quest of.

Be in quest of jumped out at me, but so did the word search. So that was the next word I looked up.

  • search: try to find something by looking or otherwise seeking carefully and thoroughly

Search and seek mention the word find, and the verse also does, so I looked up find.

  • findlocate, spot, pinpoint, unearth, obtain; search out, nose out, track down, root out; come across/upon, run across/into,chance on, light on, happen on, stumble on, encounter; informal bump into; literary espy.

Locate! I won’t just “find“, I will locate! That felt as if I could see and hear God no matter where I am. The word “find” felt to much like a specific location to me.

When I first looked up seek, “be in quest of” jumped out at me. To be in quest of God!

When looking up the definition, I found “phrases”:

  • PHRASES: in quest of thousands flocked north in quest of gold: in search of, in pursuit of, seeking, looking for, on the lookout for, after.

That was it. That is what spoke to me. I was in pursuit of God, and I would locate God as long as I look with all my heart!

This week’s verse now speaks directly to me:

 Jayne will be in pursuit of God and locate God when Jayne looks for God with all Jayne’s heart.

My Verse Mapping

My Verse Mapping

6 thoughts on “Verse Mapping

  1. Pingback: Verse Mapping | Finding Myself

  2. Thank you!! This post helped me to see how verse mapping can really help get deeper meaning out of the verses! Thanks for taking us step by step through this.

Leave a Reply

