Home » Bible Study » Verse Mapping

Verse Mapping

Every week in my bible study, we are given a new verse and encouraged to verse map; meaning, break the verse down and see how it speaks directly to you. You can find my very first verse mapping entry here (this will open in a new tab for you).

I have not verse mapped since, but this week, God spoke to me and really wants me to dive deeper into His Word. So, it is my goal to write a weekly post during my bible studies on my verse mapping and share how the verse speaks more directly to me.

Submit yourselves, then, to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.  James 4:7

The verse itself really seemed pretty self explanatory, but I also know that we shouldn’t take things at face value. Three words stood out to me this week: submit, resist, and flee.

So I started with submit. If you Google the word, you get the following definition:

accept or yield to a superior force or to the authority or will of another person.

Let’s simply look at the first half of that definition. Accept or yield to a superior force. Well, God is certainly superior. And I would agree that it is my job to accept His will for me!

Yield stuck out, so I wanted to dig a little deeper.

give way to arguments, demands, or pressure.

I think of the pressures of the real world. Give way to those and follow Jesus. NOT easy, but it is what is commanded of me.

Relinquish is also a synonym of submit. When looking up relinquish, hand over and yield were given, but so was something that really spoke to me:

GIVE WAY TO

And that spoke personally to me:

Give way, Jayne, to God! Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.

That is as reassuring as I could ask for. If I give way to God, then the devil will flee from me.

Next, I wanted to look at the word resist. Not a complicated word, but when I looked it up a much more stark and bolder word appeared to me: DEFY.

Now, the verse can read as:

Give way, Jayne, to God! Defy the devil, and he will flee from you.

Finally, I looked up the word flee, and two words stood out: BE GONE.

I don’t just want the devil to flee…I want him to BE GONE!!! However, in order for that to happen, I must submit…give way to God.

The verse speaks as an “if then” statement. Like a formula used in statistic. The formula is simple and if you follow the formula, you are guaranteed of the results.

Give way, Jayne, to God! Defy the devil, and he will be gone from you!

And that speaks personally to me.

 

One thought on “Verse Mapping

  1. I LOVE how you have broken down and dug deeper to reveal such an awesome reworking of this verse. I’m afraid I did take it pretty much at face value and now I’m sorry I did. Thanks for mapping it out.

Leave a Reply

