Home » Bible Study » Ready for Action!!

Ready for Action!!

Over the course of the past six weeks, I learned a very valuable lesson! You cannot judge a book by it’s cover!! Ok…something we have all heard before right? But how often do we and pass on the book. Well, I came close, but so glad I didn’t.

As some of you might know, I enjoy participating in online bible studies. At the beginning of the year, I joined a study titled, “Made to Crave” by Lysa TerKeurst through Proverbs 31. The book is about turning your craving for food into a craving for God. But I don’t crave food. I’m not one to run to food when something is wrong. So how was this book going to help me? I was also supposed to participate in a small group, but really, how much could I contribute. Food isn’t an issue for me.

But I wanted to crave God more in my life. And so there were some changes I really did want to make…and one was a true commitment to Bible study. To be more involved, participate more, and apply what I was reading.

Me….read the bible daily? Why does that task seem so daunting?

Ok…so how about start with a daily devotional. Now that I can do! So, since January 1st, I’ve been reading “Jesus Calling” by Sarah Young. It’s amazing. And I even found a few friends from my OBS Small Group willing to help keep me accountable.

Imagine that…I’ve craving God.

Bible study also included reading the chapter and participating in the group activities, both on and off line. Reading the three chapters each week wasn’t difficult at all…much easier than I thought. Some of the reading was directly food related, while other chapters were more devoted to scripture and…craving God.

But what I didn’t expect was to be so convicted by the chapters that talked about food…but in a very different way. Like I stated before, I don’t crave food when I need something to run to…in fact I don’t know that there is anything I crave in that way, unless it’s a blanket for comfort if I’m not feeling well, or simply want to snuggle. Yes…that blanket always seems to provide.

But suddenly I realized that my food choices weren’t exactly the best, and I was in denial of my choices. I ate food simply based on what I wanted. And portion sizes weren’t controlled at all. I simply ate as much as I wanted and what I wanted.

In the desert the whole community grumbled against Moses and Aaron. The Israelites said to them, “If only we had died by the Lord’s hand in Egypt! There we sat around pots of meat and ate all the food we wanted, but you have brought us out into this desert to starve this entire assembly to death.”

Then the Lord said to Moses, “I will rain down bread from heaven for you. The people are to go out each day and gather enough for that day. In this way I will test them and see whether they will follow my instructions.

~ Exodus 16:2-4

I was eating all I wanted and whatever I wanted…yet I was to only gather and eat enough for that day! Conviction, and that gut wrenching feeling of knowing I’m consuming more than I should. I’m supposed to be putting good things into my body and limit what I do. Suddenly, my next meal was cut short…but I wasn’t hungry afterward, but kind of wished I could have had a little more.

But did I need more? I needed more God…not food. So changes did need to be made, and I quickly found out I could make some very easy changes that would help make a difference in how I saw and ate food.

And so, over the course of the past six weeks, I have made some adjustments, with more on the way! First, drinking 2-3 glasses of  water everyday with a goal of 6-8. Portion size reduced, but still eating what I want, although I am making a huge effort for more natural and fresh foods. I am trying to cut out processed foods as much as possible. My challenge is that the financial cost is more, so I may not be able to get everything I want, but that won’t stop me from trying.

Today, at the grocery store, I bought some fresh cheese, fresh meats including chicken and hamburger, some fresh lox, apples, an avocado, milk, eggs, strawberries, and potatoes. I know there was more, but that’s what I can remember. My point, I made an effort to buy some fresher more natural foods to better feed my body!

And I’m also about to start a new 6-week journey. Off the heals of Made to Crave, is the Made to Crave Action Plan! This study, while still incorporating the Word of God, will also teach me some better choices I can make in my eating habits. I am a firm believer in moderation, so I’m not completely giving anything up, but simply incorporating better choices, and less of what I shouldn’t have!

I’m ready to take ACTION!! Want to join me? Just click on the Proverbs 31 Online Bible Studies button and sign up! All you have to lose is unhealthy choices!

2 thoughts on “Ready for Action!!

Leave a Reply

