Home » Bible Study » Living So That » Jesus Came So That…

Jesus Came So That…

It’s Sunday! A new week, a new bible study, and a scripture based one at that! I’m so excited for this study to begin…and it has! Let’s take a look at chapter one, well, at least the introduction! Here is our memory verse, which I can honestly say I already have this verse committed to memory. It’s John 3:16

Memory Verse:

“For God so loved the world that He gave His one and only Son, [so that] whoever believes in Him shall no perish, but have eternal life.” (NIV, emphasis added)

Let’s look at another version of this verse. From “The Voice”:

16 “For God expressed His love for the world in this way: He gave His only Son [so that] whoever believes in Him will not face everlasting destruction, but will have everlasting life” (The Voice; emphasis added)

Through the week, the chapter will look at many reasons why Jesus came, but as I close the introduction for today, I’d like to share my thought on why I think Jesus came to earth.

What I have learned over the course of the past couple years is that the Bible really tells an amazing story. 66 amazing books that link a time before Jesus with a time of having Jesus to a time of waiting for Jesus to return. And I’ve learned that everything in the Old was done to fulfill everything in the new and everything yet to happen. The best part of the book, we already know how it ends! And for us, it ends amazingly well. And you don’t even need to read the whole bible to know that. John 3:16 alone tells you that!

When I really stop and think how Jesus came into the world, it’s amazing that God did it. Think for a moment. A very young women, not married, and pregnant. In today’s society, there is no shock factor in that, but 2000+ years ago, there certainly was. I’ve never really stopped to think and ponder why it was Mary, and not to a more well off person of that time.

Think of the conditions of His birth…a dirty stable in the cold of the night. A place where animals give birth to their young…not people. Can you imagine if today we treated a CEO of a major corporation like that? Actually, can you even imagine them staying at a Motel 6 verses a 5-star luxury hotel. No, we can’t. But Jesus did.

He came in the worse of conditions to the poorest of people and I think it was for no other reason than God knew I wouldn’t believe a Savior for me would be born of royalty. He gave me a Savior I could believe in. And although it starts there, that isn’t the “reason” Jesus came to earth.

You see, I cannot “live” without a savior, or someone willing to pay my debt for my sins. But the only person that could pay that debt is someone who is completely sinless. There isn’t one human walking this earth that bears that sinless state. And God couldn’t send another human because everyone born is born with sin. God could only send His Son to be born of a virgin so that sin couldn’t enter through Him.

God sent His Son and allowed Him to become the only sinless human who could save the entire world. More amazing, all you have to do is truly believe it, and you’ll never die. Yes, from your earthly humanly body, but your soul will be alive with God forever! Heaven awaits for those who believe!

Jesus came to earth to save me! Jesus came to earth so that I can spend eternal life with Him in heaven. He paid my debt because there isn’t anyone else who can, and God loves me so much, that He allowed a Savior for me!

That is why Jesus came to earth.

One thought on “Jesus Came So That…

Leave a Reply

