Home » Bible Study » Jesus Came So That…Part 2: The Law

Jesus Came So That…Part 2: The Law

Part two of chapter one examines the law and digs deeper into the reasoning of why Jesus came to earth. I gave my thoughts in my last post, but now I want to explore some of the reasons from “The Law”.

In reading Roman 5:20-21, I find a few “so that” to help me understand:

20 The law was brought in so that the trespass might increase. But where sin increased, grace increased all the more, 21 so that, just as sin reigned in death, so also grace might reign through righteousness to bring eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord. (NIV)

Here is The Voice:

20 When the law came into the picture, sin grew and grew; but wherever sin grew and spread, God’s grace was there in fuller, greater measure. No matter how much sin crept in, there was always more grace. 21 In the same way that sin reigned in the sphere of death, now grace reigns through God’s restorative justice, eclipsing death and leading to eternal life through the Anointed One, Jesus our Lord, the Liberating King. (The Voice)

Amazing how much grace God has for us…an unending amount! Just as there is unending sin, there is more unending grace!

Obviously, I continued to sin, therefore, laws were created to help curb in the sinful nature, however, I have learned from my bible reading that my heart is truly evil. I’m full of sin. It doesn’t matter how “good” I think I am, or that I do good things…I’m still a sinner.

But here is what that verse offers me…grace. God’s grace. But here is what I find the most amazing…like sin, grace never ceases. Grace is increased all the more! Sin equals death, but grace equals righteousness to eternal life through Jesus!

We have lots of laws in our society, and there are consequences for each law we break. And for the most part, we hope that the consequences fits the action of the broken law. But for God, sin is very different, thus the laws are very different from those that we have in our society. There is no black and white when it comes to sin. The consequences may differ in severity (and yes, we will still be held accountable for all our sins), but grace covers our sins and throws them away on judgement day! But we cannot forget the reasoning for having the law in the first place.

Romans 7:7 wraps it up nicely.

What shall we say, then? Is the law sinful? Certainly not! Nevertheless, I would not have known what sin was had it not been for the law. For I would not have known what coveting really was if the law had not said, “You shall not covet.” (NIV)

So what is the story? Is the law itself sin? Absolutely not! It is the exact opposite. I would never have known what sin is if it were not for the law. For example, I would not have known that desiring something that belongs to my neighbor is sin if the law had not said, “You are not to covet. ” (The Voice)

So, it’s fair to say that in both society, and with God, laws exist so that we know what is wrong to do. And only with God, and because of the unending grace, we are not bound by the law, but set free in what Jesus did for us!

To conclude, let’s ponder a few thoughts. First, we can only be made right in God’s eyes by that unending grace. If we don’t believe in the grace, and try to live a life of making ourselves right without that grace, we will forever remain cursed in God’s eyes. Second, we must live by faith and truly believe that the grace placed over us is what saves us. Finally, we have been redeemed because of the sacrifice and death of Jesus. Remember, He was the only sinless human that could pay the debt of our sins.

Jesus came so that…I would be free from the curse of the law of the sin I continually commit.

See you tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

