Home » Bible Study » Living So That » Jesus Came So That…Part 4: Holy Living

Jesus Came So That…Part 4: Holy Living

Holy Living. What is it and is it something I can do? Honestly, I think of someone like the Pope. Seems like that should be the pinnacle of holy living, right? Wrong! Oh, the lesson I have learned in this section of Chapter 1. Let’s dig in!

Let’s start by defining the “holiness” from the Easton’s Bible Dictionary (free resource on biblegateway.com!)

Holiness

in the highest sense belongs to God (Isa. 6:3; Rev. 15:4), and to Christians as consecrated to God’s service, and in so far as they are conformed in all things to the will of God (Rom. 6:19, 22; Eph. 1:4; Titus 1:8; 1 Pet. 1:15). Personal holiness is a work of gradual development. It is carried on under many hindrances, hence the frequent admonitions to watchfulness, prayer, and perseverance (1 Cor. 1:30; 2 Cor. 7:1; Eph. 4:23, 24).

The word consecrated stands out to me, so let’s read that definition too. Again, from biblegateway.com:

Consecration

the devoting or setting apart of anything to the worship or service of God. The race of Abraham and the tribe of Levi were thus consecrated (Ex. 13:2, 12, 15; Num. 3:12). The Hebrews devoted their fields and cattle, and sometimes the spoils of war, to the Lord (Lev. 27:28, 29). According to the Mosaic law the first-born both of man and beast were consecrated to God.

In the New Testament, Christians are regarded as consecrated to the Lord (1 Pet. 2:9).

Holy living is nothing more than living your life for God in everything you do! You don’t need to be the Pope…just you…just me! I never knew I could be considered holy to God, or that I was to live holy! What an amazing conviction! Worship God, serve God, and devote my life to Him allows me to live holy.

This part of the chapter started by asking us to read Titus 3:4-8, then ask us to pick at least three words that stood out in the first sentence that reveal God’s grace and explain why we choose them. Let’s look at the first sentence, verse 4:

But then something happened: God our Savior and His overpowering love and kindness for humankind entered our world;” (The Voice) (bold added)

My words are in bold and here is why I choose them. First, Savior because that verse makes it so clear that God is our Savior! There is no mistaken that. God equals Savior. Nothing else can be that. My second word is overpowering for the fact that His love and kindness overpowers everything else. Let that soak in…God’s love and kindness are overpowering! Nothing else in my life should be as overpowering as God’s love and kindness for me. Finally, I chose the words humankind for the realization that God excludes no one from His overpowering love and kindness. No one!

How often do we judge another or jump to an unfair conclusion based on looks, what someone is wearing, the way they speak, etc…Yes, I too am guilty, but God reminds me that His love and kindness have no boundaries at all, and neither should I. I convicted myself on that one, but God forgives me and helps me to live holy and move forward with Him.

What I’ve learned from this part is that I am holy to God and therefore, I must practice holy living in everything I do and everything I do should be for the love of God. God’s grace isn’t a free ticket to live a life of our own choosing. It’s a free gift from God to allow us to be Holy and be made whole and free of sin come judgement day. But we must still live a life that is pleasing to God.

I’d like to end today’s post with a quote from Wendy Blight, author of Living So That.

“Holiness becomes a reality when we surrender our hearts and minds to God.” ~ Wendy Blight

You can practice holy living by simply calling out and surrendering to God and His Will for you. I’ll concluded chapter one later this week with a post on prayer.

One thought on “Jesus Came So That…Part 4: Holy Living

Leave a Reply

