Home » Bible Study » God Spoke So That…Memory Verse

God Spoke So That…Memory Verse

I’m beginning Chapter Two today from “Living So That. Making Faith-Filled Choices in the Midst of a Messy Life” by Wendy Blight. The book is a scripture based bible study that focuses on “so that” verses. Last week, my posts were around the reasons why Jesus came to earth.

This week, we are going to look at reasons why God Speaks (Spoke). Topics this week will include The Word, Established in the Truth, and The Word as spoken through Luke, John, and Paul. I have a feeling there will be some major conviction this week from the Holy Spirit, but isn’t that way we study the Bible? So that we know what is expected of us. I hope you will join me.

Today’s post will be a verse mapping of the memory verse. I also want to promote a website I found that is for memorizing scripture. I encourage you to check it out and begin your journey of memorizing scripture so that you can hide and carry God’s Word in your heart. The site is called Memverse, and it is completely free, but a valuable bible study tool. You can find the site here.

Ok…let’s get to this week’s memory verse:

16 “All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, 17 so that the servant of Godmay be thoroughly equipped for every good work.” (2 Timothy 3:16-17, NIV)

I also looked up The Voice’s version which I am finding offers great depth, especially when comparing it to another version:

16 “All of Scripture is God-breathed; in its inspired voice, we hear useful teaching, rebuke, correction, instruction, and training for a life that is right 17 so that God’s people may be up to the task ahead and have all they need to accomplish every good work.” (The Voice)

What a verse to unpack! I like The Voice, but I’m going to verse map the NIV as I feel The Voice is actually already mapped. I can immediately see where I can put my name and really personalize this verse. Verse 16 I want to look up the words teaching, rebuking, correcting, and training. Verse 17 is what becomes so personal as I am the servant of God!

“so that, Jayne, a servant of God, may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.”

God is personally equipping me by handing me His Word. Sixty-six books that tell an amazing story and God wants me to know every part of it. He wants to “equip” me. Let’s look some of these words up.

  • Equipped: supply with the necessary items for a particular purpose.  prepare (someone) mentally for a particular situation or task. Also means: provide, furnish, supply, issue
  • Teaching: ideas or principles taught by an authority
  • Rebuking: express sharp disapproval or criticism of (someone) because of their behavior or actions
  • Correcting: put right. to tell someone they are mistaken
  • Training: teach (a person or animal) a particular skill or type of behavior through practice and instruction over a period of time

So, God supplies us with the necessary item (His Word) for a particular purpose (able to do every good work). He’s preparing me mentality through His Word, and thus I take that ideas and principle taught by God out into the real every day world which is completely against me. When I let that world rule my thoughts and actions, God expresses His sharp disapproval, and tells me of my mistake and puts me back in the rights. This practice continues day and night for my eternal worldly life, SO THAT everything I do, I do with God first.

God spoke so that I would be fully equipped to do the will of God.
Leave a Reply

