Home » Bible Study » God Spoke So That…Part 1: The Word

God Spoke So That…Part 1: The Word

Chapter two is about God speaking to us. And if you are ever having trouble finding God speak to you, well, all we need to do is open up the very thing that He gave to us that is still as alive and useful today as it was when it was first written. God’s Word. His Holy Sacred Word. I must admit, I don’t really treat my bible in a that way. It’s just sitting on my desk at home and I will open it when I study, but I don’t think twice about putting something else on top of it, or just pushing it out of my way if I need the space. My first task is to better treat that special book directly from God.

Second, I find that I can, for the most part, easily read God’s Word. However, reading and comprehending and then applying it are three very different things. Yes, I can read it, some of it I can comprehend, but I couldn’t begin to tell you how much of it I apply. Forgive me Lord.

22 “Put the word into action. If you think hearing is what matters most, you are going to find you have been deceived.” (James 1:22, The Voice)

Today, let’s look at exactly what God’s Word is to us and what it allows us to do. We are given God’s Word for a very specific reason, that that is so we are equipped to do what God specifically wants each of us to do…His Will for us.

4 “For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through the endurance taught in the Scriptures and the encouragement they provide we might have hope.” (Romans 15:4)

I find it interesting here that it is said what God’s Word gives us…God’s Word is our hope. His Word gives us endurance through teaching and encouragement…so that we might have hope. What is hope? Easton’s Bible Dictionary gives a nice definition.

Hope
one of the three main elements of Christian character (1 Cor. 13:13). It is joined to faith and love, and is opposed to seeing or possessing (Rom. 8:24; 1 John 3:2). “Hope is an essential and fundamental element of Christian life, so essential indeed, that, like faith and love, it can itself designate the essence of Christianity (1 Pet. 3:15; Heb. 10:23). In it the whole glory of the Christian vocation is centred (Eph. 1:18; 4:4).” Unbelievers are without this hope (Eph. 2:12; 1 Thess. 4:13). Christ is the actual object of the believer’s hope, because it is in his second coming that the hope of glory will be fulfilled (1 Tim. 1:1; Col. 1:27; Titus 2:13). It is spoken of as “lively”, i.e., a living, hope, a hope not frail and perishable, but having a perennial life (1 Pet. 1:3). In Rom. 5:2 the “hope” spoken of is probably objective, i.e., “the hope set before us,” namely, eternal life (comp. 12:12). In 1 John 3:3 the expression “hope in him” ought rather to be, as in the Revised Version, “hope on him,” i.e., a hope based on God.

 

Does that definition bring another verse to mind. Faith, love, and hope…but the greatest of these is love. Yes, 1 Cor 13:13. It is one of my favorite verses. Lots of verses to fill us with hope.

Personally, I am learning to view God’s Word as scared and finding more and more how dependent I am becoming on it…and yes, it should be that way. God specifically states that ALL scripture is inspired by Him, that includes the old and new testaments. God was very active in writing what you and I have at our fingertips! And God inspired it all for some very specific reasons:

Teaching: So that I learn, God’s Word and God’s expectations of me.

Rebuking: So that when mistakes are made, I know what is wrong and how to fix it. And so I don’t begin to think my way is above God’s way.

Correcting: So that I don’t misunderstand or interpret God’s Word in my own way, but also so that when I break a rule of God’s, I have a reference on how to not break those rules.

Training: So that I am well trained for my job of serving God.

God gives us exactly what we need to accomplish every task He purposed for us to do. And the better I know God’s Word, the better I am able to live out God’s plan for my life. By reading the bible we are equipping ourselves for all we need in order to do God’s work.

By reading God’s Word, He has so far equipped me enough to join a small group and be an active participant in a bible study, but also to allow me to write this blog and share with those He wants to come across this page.

God spoke so that I would get to learn and apply His Word.

Leave a Reply

