Home » Bible Study » God Spoke So That…Part 2: Established In The Truth

God Spoke So That…Part 2: Established In The Truth

This study really has me digging deep. Let’s start today by looking up the definition of established and truth:

Established: having taken root; growing well.

Truth: that which is true or in accordance with fact or reality

So, we must take root in order to grow well in that which is true or in accordance with fact. But how do we take root in God’s Word? This part of the chapter really challenged my thinking, because it is easy to deceive yourself of how rooted you are in God’s Word.

Put the word into action. If you think hearing is what matters most, you are going to find you have been deceived.” ~James 1:22 (The Message)

If we allow deception to set in we are allowing the enemy into our lives. And that enemy would like nothing more than to tear us apart from God. But that battle is all ready won thanks to the blood of Jesus! We know the fate of the enemy and we know our fate. The battle still rages, but we can better fight if we are established in God’s Word!

Being established in the Word is a prerequisite to having strong, firm, and immovable faith.” ~Wendy Blight author of Living So That.

Let’s look at some ways we can become established in God’s Word. These are ways I feel are best for me, but I would love to hear some of yours!

  • Read God’s Word daily
  • Memorize Scripture (great website here…and it’s free!)
  • Use scripture when praying
  • Take notes, write out scripture, write a blog detailing what God is showing you.
  • Listen to what others have to say, but don’t take anyone’s word for it. Use scripture to confirm it.

Now, on the flip side of all this, it is very easy to make mistakes when trying to establish oneself in the Word. And although not easy to admit to, I know of a few, and by writing them out, it helps me to catch myself so that I don’t continue to make them!

  • Thinking I can just read God’s Word one time and never revisit it again
  • Thinking I don’t need to be in the Word daily
  • Twisting what the Word says to fit what I want it say
  • Not treating God’s Word as His Word (God-Breathed)
  • Not believing God’s Word is as useful today as it was when it was first written

16 All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, 17 so that the servant of Godmay be thoroughly equipped for every good work. (2 Timothy 3:16-17)

By establishing myself in God’s Word, I will develop roots that will transform my heart and mind! I’m also realizing that by reading God’s Word and establishing myself in His Word, I am forming a strong partnership in which nothing can break. When you have God’s Word buried in your heart, nothing can change that!

To concluded today, let’s take a look at Paul (we’ll look deeper at what Paul spoke later this week). God commissioned Paul to build His church. Can you imagine that calling? I cannot! I can barely handle the small calling God has for me…and often question it, but Paul accepted God’s calling to build His church and spread God’s message to the Gentiles. God extended His grace to all people…He excluded no one!

Let’s look at one last scripture reading today. Ephesians 3:8-11, in three versions:

Although I am less than the least of all the Lord’s people, this grace was given me: to preach to the Gentiles the boundless riches of Christ, and to make plain to everyone the administration of this mystery, which for ages past was kept hidden in God, who created all things. 10 His intent was that now, through the church, the manifold wisdom of God should be made known to the rulers and authorities in the heavenly realms, 11 according to his eternal purpose that he accomplished in Christ Jesus our Lord. (NIV)

I cannot think of anyone more unworthy to this cause than I, the least of the least of the saints. But here I am, a grace-made man, privileged to be an echo of His voice and a preacher to all the nations of the riches of the Anointed One, riches that no one ever imagined. I am privileged to enlighten all of Adam’s descendants to the mystery concealed from previous ages by God, the Creator of all, through Jesus the Anointed. 10 Here’s His objective: through the church, He intends now to make known His infinite and boundless wisdom to all rulers and authorities in heavenly realms. 11 This has been His plan from the beginning, one that He has now accomplished through the Anointed One, Jesus our Lord. (The Voice)

7-8 This is my life work: helping people understand and respond to this Message. It came as a sheer gift to me, a real surprise, God handling all the details. When it came to presenting the Message to people who had no background in God’s way, I was the least qualified of any of the available Christians. God saw to it that I was equipped, but you can be sure that it had nothing to do with my natural abilities.

8-10 And so here I am, preaching and writing about things that are way over my head, the inexhaustible riches and generosity of Christ. My task is to bring out in the open and make plain what God, who created all this in the first place, has been doing in secret and behind the scenes all along. Through followers of Jesus like yourselves gathered in churches, this extraordinary plan of God is becoming known and talked about even among the angels!

11-13 All this is proceeding along lines planned all along by God and then executed in Christ Jesus. When we trust in him, we’re free to say whatever needs to be said, bold to go wherever we need to go. So don’t let my present trouble on your behalf get you down. Be proud! (The Message)

Wow! Such a heartfelt message from Paul. He didn’t think of himself as high and almighty when doing God’s work, but rather, “less than the least of all God’s people”. Paul…the one God commissioned to build His church felt as if he was less than the least of any of God’s people.

Paul was called to preach to the Gentiles. What a blessing that God said go out and preach to all the people! Without that, I wouldn’t have a connection to God! We have to remember the purpose in Paul’s preaching. Think of the time in which Paul built God’s church. It was after the death of Jesus. Paul got to spend some time with Jesus and learn, but then was sent out to teach others what he had learned. All his teaching was to those who never got to meet Jesus while He walked this earth. But God’s purpose was so that you and I would know exactly what God’s plan was the entire time, and how Jesus played a role that allows you and I salvation.

One last thought. We also need to remember that Jesus came for the sinner…the worst of the worst, so that everyone could believe. If Jesus came as royalty, how difficult would it be to believe that He came for the peasant too? And that is why God uses all of us to preach the Gospel today, because we are someone everyone can believe in. But we must first establish ourselves in God’s Truth (His Word) if we want others to believe the message!

God spoke so that I too could develop deep roots and be called to spread His Word, by being establish in the Truth.

Leave a Reply

