Home » Bible Study » Pray So That…Chapter 3: Verse Mapping

Pray So That…Chapter 3: Verse Mapping

UPDATE: I want to welcome all the P31 OBS Blog Hoppers!! I am so thrilled that you have dropped by! Below is my post from just a few days ago on verse mapping this weeks verse.

Please make yourself at home, stay as long as you like, and please come back often! I have been blogging nearly daily on the current study, Living So That, by Wendy Blight. You’ll also find a tab specifically for prayer requests, so please feel free to leave a comment on that page and I will be honored to pray for you!

Now…onto the blog hop post! Enjoy!


A new week, a new verse to memorize and map! This week, our chapter focuses on prayer and why we should pray. Besides God telling us we should, I see no other reason needed.  Prayer is our open dialogue and conversation with God.

I’ve learned that there is no right or wrong way to pray. It’s just conversation with God. Yes, I realize God is so much bigger than us, but remember, He humbled Himself to human form and walked among the least of us.

Simple, everyday conversation is what God wants. Personally I usually start by just saying hi and asking how He is doing today. I pray (talk) to God like I would want Him to talk to me.

Let’s look at this week’s verse. It comes from the book of Hebrews:

16 Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need. (Hebrews 4:16, NIV)

I like this version too:

16 So let us step boldly to the throne of grace, where we can find mercy and grace to help when we need it most. (The Voice)

And finally, The Message:

The High Priest Who Cried Out in Pain

14-16 Now that we know what we have—Jesus, this great High Priest with ready access to God—let’s not let it slip through our fingers. We don’t have a priest who is out of touch with our reality. He’s been through weakness and testing, experienced it all—all but the sin. So let’s walk right up to him and get what he is so ready to give. Take the mercy, accept the help.

I’ll be mapping out the NIV version, as it is that version I will be memorizing. As always, I start with making the verse personal like this:

 Let Jayne approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that Jayne may receive mercy and find grace to help Jayne in a time of need.

Making it personal really speaks to me. Words that stand out are “approach”, “confidence”, and “receive”. So, let’s look them up!

  • Approach: Come near or nearer to. Syn: Come/go towards
  • Confidence:  a feeling of self-assurance arising from one’s appreciation of one’s own abilities or qualities. Syn: Trust, belief, faith, conviction.
  • Receive: take delivery of. Syn: be presented with

Come near with a feeling of self-assurance and take delivery. That offers me a lot of comfort, and if I add it back into the verse, it reads as this:

Let Jayne come near God’s throne of grace with a feeling of self assurance, so that Jayne may take delivery of the mercy and find grace to help her in a time of need.

How blessed to worship a God that says come near to me and talk to me! That’s my verse map for this week. I’ll be writing much more on prayer throughout the week.

9 thoughts on “Pray So That…Chapter 3: Verse Mapping

  1. I am just now learning about verse mapping and I think it’s a great idea. I enjoy looking up words and applying those meanings to the verses. Making it personal makes it personal. I tried verse mapping with First Peter 1:15. I was blown away! Thanks for sharing your verse mapping.

  2. Jayne I loved this one personalized. I failed to do that this week and it’s beautiful. I did go back and use Amanda’s technique of starting from the back of the verse. Thanks for sharing. Debbie W.( Proverbs 31 Ministries OBS Team)

  3. Hi there, I loved your blog post, especially this part “I’ve learned that there is no right or wrong way to pray.” My prayer is very different from day to day, just like my conversations with friends are different depending on the day, the situation, the friend. Thanks for sharing your blog. I’m in group 63 and I shared my favorite part of your blog with them. Blessings Sherry Leilani Allinger

    • Well thank you very much! I’m so happy you liked the post, and thank you for sharing part of my blog with your group! I’m in group 19. Thank you for stopping by! Jayne

  4. I have never done verse mapping and was not really sure what it even meant. Thank you for sharing. I love how even more beautiful the verse becomes as you personalize it and phrase it in common terminology.

  5. Awesome! Yes, I agree…. it is a blessing to worship God and He wants us to come near to Him and talk with Him. 🙂

Leave a Reply

