Home » Bible Study » Pray So That…Part 1: Pray Continually

Pray So That…Part 1: Pray Continually

If anyone ever tells you that you haven’t got a prayer in the world, don’t believe them. We have proof you do have every prayer in the world…and a God who wants to hear every single one! Yes, we worship a God who invites us to talk with Him anytime we want. The more the better.

Prayer. Defined as a solemn request for help or expression of thanks addressed to God. It’s a dialogue between us and God. A one on one of sorts…even if there are several praying for the same thing. We shouldn’t overlook the fact that prayer is so easy for us. Back in the times of the Old Testament, God’s people couldn’t openly approach Him in prayer.

A few week ago, I did a post on Prayer and how Jesus prayed to God. That post walked through John 17. You can find it here if you’d like to read it. That post includes a nice biblical definition of prayer along with lots of scripture reference. Jesus was our living example of how to pray. He did it alone, with the crowd, and lastly on the cross.

50 And when Jesus had cried out again in a loud voice, he gave up his spirit.

51 At that moment the curtain of the temple was torn in two from top to bottom. The earth shook, the rocks split 52 and the tombs broke open. (Matthew 27:50-52a)

And it was at that very moment that you and I were freely given the gift and privilege to speak to God at anytime, anywhere. We are able to engage in a two-way conversation. Yes, two-way. God listens and answers…might not be the answer we want, but He answers. Prayer also signifies our love relationship with God. The more we pray, the closer we get to God.

And this week’s verse reminds us of that privilege and knowing what Jesus did for us, we should not fear talking to God.

“Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.” Hebrews 4:16

But it’s also important to remember that prayer isn’t just about asking for something. It is also praising and thanking God for everything He gives us. It’s acknowledging the bad times and admitting the wrongs we’ve done while seeking God’s guidance. And prayer isn’t just thinking it in your head. You can talk out loud to God, or my personal favorite, write God notes and letters. Yeah, He reads those too!

I approach my prayer with God as an everyday conversation with a friend with whom I’m sharing a cup of coffee with. I prefer the more casual approach where I can just say what is on my mind, and not worry about any formalities. And by approaching it that way, I’m able to do it often. But I’ll admit, not continually, and not constantly. Not exactly an afterthought, but certainly not at the forefront of my thoughts either.

I know an effort is needed on my part, but tools to help are never a bad thing. I’ll be back later this week to dive into this chapter some more and talk about how to deepen our prayer life…so that our relationship with God can deepen and strengthen.

But I want to end today’s post with confidence and no fear. Would you please join me in prayer.

Hi God,

Thank you so much for this beautiful day. It was so warm and spring like. I was able to find some daffodils that were starting to open and they just brought a smile to my face! I saw a beautiful sunset tonight too. And although it rained today, I didn’t go out to look for the rainbow, but I know You saw it, where ever it was. Also, thank You so much for watching over all the people in Boston today and protecting all the runners from harm.

Lord, my prayer life with You isn’t what I want it to be, and I wouldn’t think You are to pleased with it. As I go through this week and through this chapter, please help me to better my prayer time with You. Help me to remember what a gift and privilege You’ve given me through the most perfect sacrifice of Jesus. I’m so lucky to be able to talk to You at any time, any place. I thank You so much for this. I will try not to take it for granted, but ask that You convict me when I do.

I pray this in Jesus’ Name, Amen.

Just a final tidbit before I go for the night. I’ve created a new page on my blog titled “Prayer Requests”. I invite you to please leave a comment on that page with any prayer request you have. This is one of the tools that will help me on my journey, and hopefully, you’ll feel the blessing of prayer wash over you.

Leave a Reply

