Home » Leadership » Leadership Study Day 1: Mark 10:42-45

Leadership Study Day 1: Mark 10:42-45

For the next couple of weeks I will be participating in a leadership bible study and will be blogging about that experience. This study will focus on a different scripture each day and what observations and applications each scripture speaks to me. The final aspect of this study is prayer.


S: 42 Jesus called them together and said, “You know that those who are regarded as rulers of the Gentiles lord it over them, and their high officials exercise authority over them. 43 Not so with you. Instead, whoever wants to become great among you must be your servant, 44 and whoever wants to be first must be slave of all. 45 For even the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many.” (NIV)

O: Even though I am in a leadership role by title, my true role is simply to serve by leading others through the scriptures and helping them to understand and apply what they read to their personal and daily life. If I let the “power” of leadership to go my head, I’m not helping anyone, not serving as the Lord wishes me to do, and I will then become a false prophet by bearing my power over others. I am not to want power, but simply lead those looking for some direction in God’s Word.

A: I must be the example I want others to be. This means being faithful in my s
tudies and taking the time to really study what the scriptures. I must also read the scripture in context so that my observations are accurate and not just my assumptions based on a single verse or two. I am not to mold scripture to my liking, or what I want it to say, but rather keep everything in context as God has written it. I must always be organized and prepared. I must listen, never judge, and guide other with the knowledge I have, but never act as if I know something I do not.

P: Lord, You led by example of what we are supposed to do. I fall short in that I often take leading to mean power. Forgive me, Lord. As I begin walking down this new path you have placed before me, please help me to remember that I am to serve and be faithful in my serving. Help remind me that I am not in a position of power and that I should not force power upon others. Allow me to shine Your light so that others see that light and what to follow. Help me to focus and apply the scriptures in the way that brings You honor and glory. In Jesus name, Amen.

 

 

Leave a Reply

