Home » Bible Study » Leadership Study Day 5: Ezra 7:10

Leadership Study Day 5: Ezra 7:10

The first five verses talk about the lineage of Ezra. Verse six starts to really dig into the leadership. Now, I must admit, I had to look in my bible to find the place were Ezra resides. And I didn’t realize he was a king. Verse 10 is our study verse for today, but I felt a few verses of context were needed.

Scripture:

this Ezra came up from Babylon. He was a teacher well versed in the Law of Moses, which the Lord, the God of Israel, had given. The king had granted him everything he asked, for the hand of the Lord his God was on him. Some of the Israelites, including priests, Levites, musicians, gatekeepers and temple servants, also came up to Jerusalem in the seventh year of King Artaxerxes.

Ezra arrived in Jerusalem in the fifth month of the seventh year of the king. He had begun his journey from Babylon on the first day of the first month, and he arrived in Jerusalem on the first day of the fifth month, for the gracious hand of his God was on him. 10 For Ezra had devoted himself to the study and observance of the Law of the Lord, and to teaching its decrees and laws in Israel.

Observation

Ezra was a teacher who knew the laws of Moses well and therefore could teach them. He knew what he was teaching and God’s Hand was with him. For me, to have God’s hand in the same way as Ezra, devotion, study, and observances of the law allows for proper teaching of the decrees and laws are needed. I cannot teach what I do not know.

Application

Although the scripture doesn’t specifically say, it is known that Ezra had to devote a lot of time to learning the law and decrees because otherwise, he would not have been qualified to teach them. The same holds true for me as a leader. I must devoted time to read scripture, study the scripture, and observe what the scripture is telling me because that is what will allow the proper teaching of what the scripture is saying and how we can live according to it. I do not want to be a false teacher or leader and be responsible for turning someone away from God. My hope is that by being a leader I can lead others to a closer relationship with Christ.

Prayer

Lord, help give me the time needed to devote myself in studying and learning what Your word says so that I can teach it as You want it taught. Help me to know what is right in Your Word and never to interrupt the scripture my way, but to always seek You! May my leading others be the light to bring them to You. But never allow any of the sheep to strictly take my word, touch their hearts to seek out Your Word and confirm what it is I teach, and rebuke me if I turn to power rather than being a servant. In Jesus Name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

