Home » Bible Study » Leadership Study Day 9: 2 Timothy 1:5-7

Leadership Study Day 9: 2 Timothy 1:5-7

Today’s scripture reminds us how we must always tend to the fire to keep it flaming…or it will go out.

Scripture

What strikes me most is how natural and sincere your faith is. I am convinced that the same faith that dwelt in your grandmother, Lois, and your mother, Eunice, abides in you as well. This is why I write to remind you to stir up the gift of God that was conveyed to you when I laid my hands upon you. You see, God did not give us a cowardly spirit but a powerful, loving, and disciplined spirit. (The Voice)

Observation

God’s gift of faith is like a flame, and when the embers of the fire have cooled you must fan them again and keep them ablaze. (commentary from The Voice). Pray, read, and study continually. We cannot maintain if we don’t continually use it.

Application

Being in the Word daily is what will help bring a life long habit and keep that flame burning. Also, being in group studies and surrounding myself with other like-minded Christians will help to strengthen one’s faith, but always know your bible so that you don’t fall to false teachings.

Prayer

Lord, help me to keep Your fire burning deep inside of me. On those days when I don’t have time, convict my soul so that I make time to be in Your Word. May my soul thirst for Your Word and when I need answers may I search for them in Your Word so that my flame never burns out. In Jesus’ Name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

