Home » Bible Study » YAL: Week 1 – Monday: Psalm 139

YAL: Week 1 – Monday: Psalm 139

The “You Are Loved” bible study has begun! I’m really looking forward to sharing with you over the next 8 weeks. Let’s start digging in!

First, our memory verse for the week. (I like this website to help with scripture memorization).

Memory Verse:

“The Lord your God is with you,the Mighty Warrior who saves. He will take great delight in you; in his love he will no longer rebuke you,but will rejoice over you with singing.” ~Zephaniah 3:17 (NIV)

We begin our study with the reading of Psalm 139. Some think this is the best psalm David ever wrote. From his very lowest point, he still realized how great God was and that no matter what he did against God, he couldn’t hide from God. Bringing the conclusion of the psalm to focus on  the points that God is everywhere and knows everything, followed by the knowledge that God made us and therefore He knows us.

Our SOAP (scripture, observations, applications, and prayer) will be on verses 7-10.

Scripture:

Where can I go from your Spirit?
    Where can I flee from your presence?
If I go up to the heavens, you are there;
    if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.
If I rise on the wings of the dawn,
    if I settle on the far side of the sea,
10 even there your hand will guide me,
    your right hand will hold me fast.

Observation:

What I like about this verse is how it questions ones own actions. Where and if statements are so prevalent in these verses (and throughout the chapter). First, it asking where do I go to escape You, followed by the knowledge that there is nowhere to hide. God will find us no matter where we are, so we can try and hide, or try and escape, but God will find us. And when He does, He holds onto us with His right hand, so that we won’t fall.

Application:

Learn to recognize that hiding from God is not possible in any way, so stop trying to justify my actions against God thinking He cannot see them. He sees all. In studying God’s Word, I am made more aware of His presence and in talking to Him I am less likely to try and hide from Him.

Prayer:

Dear God, as I try to hide, help me to feel the safety You offer even in my darkest moments. Help me to feel Your presence no matter where I am or what I am doing. And when I forgot, remind me of Your glorious presence so that I take no glory for myself, or that I don’t attempt to hide my face from You. You made me and therefore know all of me. You made this world and therefore know all of it. May I always be aware of this and never run from You, but rather to You. In Jesus Name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

