Home » Bible Study » YAL: Week 1 – Friday: Psalm 86:15

YAL: Week 1 – Friday: Psalm 86:15

As we end week one, we once again look at a prayer written by David. Psalm 86 is a cry for thanksgiving and mercy. From Halley’s Bible Handbook Notes, we find the following:

Thanksgiving for return from captivity, and a prayer for the restoration of the land and for a better future. It is also a prayer for mercy: even though the psalmist is godly, yet he is in need of forgiveness.

That explains not only David, but us and our need for God in every aspect of our lives! Let’s look at today’s verse.

Scripture

But you, Lord, are a compassionate and gracious God,slow to anger, abounding in love and faithfulness.

Observation

The verse says it all! There’s compassion, graciousness, slowness to anger and abundance in love and faithfulness. And all that is to us from our Lord and Savior!

Application

Why not show that same compassion, graciousness, slowness to anger, and an abundance of love and faithfulness to each other! If the Lord can do this for us, then we too can do this for others…no matter how hard. It is what we are supposed to do and what God wants of us.

Prayer

Lord, I want to show others what You give to me. I want others to see You through me. Help me to always show compassion, even in the toughest of times. Help me to always be gracious, especially when I’d rather be selfish. Help me to always be slow to show my anger, as You so willing do for me. And help me to always show my love and faithfulness to all Your children…especially those that are searching to find You. In Jesus’ Name, I pray. Amen.

One thought on “YAL: Week 1 – Friday: Psalm 86:15

  1. Pingback: You Are Loved ~ Wk1 Day 5 | HL's Journey

Leave a Reply

