Home » Bible Study » YAL: Week 2 – Wednesday : Jeremiah 24:7

YAL: Week 2 – Wednesday : Jeremiah 24:7

Each week we will have a memory verse, but we also will SOAP that verse during the week! Today, is our memory verse from Jeremiah. Hope you are able to write out the scripture by heart. If not, just type it from your bible! Let’s dig in!

Context is really important to this story. Verses 4-7 tell the story of the good, while 8-11 tell of the bad. Although 8-11 definately give a great story, we will stayed focused on verses 4-7, and the reward of being a good fig.

Scripture

Then the word of the Lord came to me: “This is what the Lord, the God of Israel, says: ‘Like these good figs, I regard as good the exiles from Judah, whom I sent away from this place to the land of the Babylonians. My eyes will watch over them for their good, and I will bring them back to this land. I will build them up and not tear them down; I will plant them and not uproot them. I will give them a heart to know me, that I am the Lord. They will be my people, and I will be their God, for they will return to me with all their heart. (NIV emphasis added)

Observation

Context here is so important. This chapter in Jeremiah speaks of good figs and bad figs. Figs that have ripen and are ready to eat, and figs that have spoiled so badly that no one can eat them. What kind of fig are you? Of course, we want to be of the good kind. Look at the promises from God here: His eyes will watch over us for our good, and He will bring us back when we wander off. He will build us up and never tear us down! He will plant us and never uproot us! He will give us a heart in which to know Him and that He is the Lord! What awesome promises God gives to us…and we know He fulfills all His promises!

Application

Trust. That is the application I must use…I must trust God and His Word! His promises are too great to doubt that He would come through on them. And that is the beauty of God’s Word. It is the most dependable thing we have! And God never ceases in wanting to bless His children. We just have to trust Him and realize it’s on God’s timing…not ours.

Prayer

Dear Lord, this world fills me with such doubt in nearly everything I do. So much so that the one thing I can truly depend on and trust, I tend to doubt…Your Word and Your promises to me. Lord, help me to rid myself of that doubt so that I can feel all the blessings and love you shower down upon me. It’s not of matter of if You will, but that You do and I’m to blind to see it. Help me Lord to just stand still so I can feel You in abundance, and develop a hunger unlike anything I’ve ever known. In Jesus’ Name. Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

