Home » Bible Study » YAL: Week 2 – Thursday : 1 John 5:20

YAL: Week 2 – Thursday : 1 John 5:20

I really like the NIV study bible notes to clarify this verse. Yet, the verse certainly speaks for itself. The NIV study bible notes read as follows:

5:20 him who is true. God the Father. He is the true God. Could refer to either God the Father or God the Son. eternal life. The letter began with this theme (1:1–2) and now ends with it.

Let’s continue our journey.

Scripture

20 We know also that the Son of God has come and has given us understanding, so that we may know him who is true. And we are in him who is true by being in his Son Jesus Christ. He is the true God and eternal life.

Observation

Context. I cannot stress it enough. You will find context of this set of verses beginning at verse 13. There, we find, is the explanation of the letter, along with a key word to carry us through the chapter.

First, let’s look at verse 13:

I write these things to you who believe in the name of the Son of God so that you may know that you have eternal life.

Two key words give me the reason as to why these things were written…SO THAT I may know I have eternal life! There is always the doubt if eternal life is really ours…so these things were written so that we would know we do. You have to read verse 14-19 to know all these things, but verse 20 gives our final affirmation. We were given understanding by the Son of God, so that we may know God the Father. And if we are in Him, then He is in us.

Application

I know it’s easy to say “just believe” or “don’t doubt…just trust”, however, with God, that is our faith….to just believe.  And that is my biggest obstacle…I don’t have the faith to just believe. I pick and choose what I believe and question God as to what He promises.

But I KNOW the sacrifice Jesus made in order to purchase me and allow me to have eternal life. I know that because of that I have it…so I don’t need to doubt, or question. I need to stop myself every time, and remember who I belong to. That will never change!

Prayer

Lord, I know I have doubt in my faith, but I don’t want to. Today, I give You all the doubt I have inside and replace it with nothing but what I know! And I know what Jesus did for me. Lord, help me to always have faith without doubts. My eternity is not in doubt, and I thank You for the gift You have given me! In Jesus’ Name, I pray. Amen.

Leave a Reply

