Home » Bible Study » YAL: Week 2 – Friday : Jeremiah 31:33-34

YAL: Week 2 – Friday : Jeremiah 31:33-34

As we close our second week of our study, we find ourselves back in Jeremiah. It tells of a new covenant that God has made with us! There should be no doubt of the love our Father has for us.

Scripture

33 This is the kind of new covenant I will make with the people of Israel when those days are over. I will put My law within them. I will write it on their hearts. I will be their God, and they will be My people. 34 No longer will people have to teach each other or encourage their family members and say, “You must know the Eternal.” For all of them will know Me intimately themselves—from the least to the greatest of society. I will be merciful when they fail and forgive their wrongs. I will never call to mind or mention their sins again. (The Voice)

Observation

A song of restoration for both Israel and Judah, with messianic foreshadowings. God commanded that it be written (v. 2) so that later, after the events had taken place, they could be compared with the prophecies in this song.

The new covenant (31:31–34). The Old Testament is the story of God’s dealings with the Hebrew nation on the basis of the covenant given at Mount Sinai. Here is a definite prediction that the Mosaic covenant would be superseded by another covenant. The displacement of the Mosaic covenant by the new covenant in Christ is the main thesis of the epistle to the Hebrews. (Halley’s Bible Handbook Notes)

My observation is of the new covenant so that I will fully know the Lord! And as if that isn’t enough, the Lord will be merciful when I fail and forgive all my wrongs…and never bring them up again! No fear. God will forgive me and never hold it against me again.

Application

I don’t need to question the gifts God gives to me. God’s Word has never not held true. I can believe and just let go of my doubt! I know being in God’s Word daily will help me to continually know God better, and the better I know God, the more I know exactly what God wants for me.

Prayer

Dear Lord, Thank You for Your covenant to forgive me for my sins and to never mention them again. Sadly, Lord, I do not do that, but I hold grudges when I should forgive. Lord, help me to always forgive and always be reminded of what You did for me. May I never take fore granted the freedom from sin You have gifted to me. And may I pass that grace and mercy on to all those who do wrong in Your eyes…no matter how difficult it may be. In Jesus’ Name, I pray. Amen.

Leave a Reply

