Home » Bible Study » YAL: Week 3 – Thursday: 1 Peter 2:9

YAL: Week 3 – Thursday: 1 Peter 2:9

Let’s dig right into today’s scripture from 1 Peter.

Scripture

But you are a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, His own special people, that you may proclaim the praises of Him who called you out of darkness into His marvelous light; (NKJV)

Observation

I love the NIV study notes for this verse. They read as follows:

  • As Israel was called God’s chosen people in the OT, so in the NT believers are designated as chosen, or elect.

I find it amazing that God still calls us the chosen! His love spans generations to all His children! And we are here in this day and age for a reason…God’s reason. We are here because He wants us to do something that will glorify Him. And maybe it’s nothing more than simple praise Him while others will see that and find their way to Him. We don’t know, but this verse certainly tells me that I am chosen by God, and that I was brought out of the dark in order to proclaim His glory and honor!

Application

Realization that I am chosen is front and foremost here! If I don’t realize that I am one of God’s chosen, then I act as if God doesn’t matter, and as been our theme all week, I allow the enemy to set in making me believe what is not true! I want to glorify God in all I do, and I can do so by praising God for being a chosen child of His!

Prayer

Lord, my ways don’t often give You the glory and honor You deserve, and I take credit that is not mine. Without You, I would be no one or anything in anyone’s eyes. Help me to realized my place as Your servant so that Your name and kingdom will be glorified through any and all of my actions. When temptation strikes, help me to step back and seek Your face first, for I know I cannot fail by doing so because You are always there to lead me. May I never take a step on my own. In Jesus’ Name, I pray. Amen.

Leave a Reply

