Home » Bible Study » YAL: Week 4 – Monday: Romans 5:6, 8

YAL: Week 4 – Monday: Romans 5:6, 8

We begin week 4 back in the book of Romans. In today’s scripture, we are reminded just how much God loved us…as sinners. Even though our verses are just 6 and 8, verse 7 is equally as important, and I include it in today’s SOAP.

Scripture

Christ in Our Place

For when we were still without strength, in due time Christ died for the ungodly. For scarcely for a righteous man will one die; yet perhaps for a good man someone would even dare to die. But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us. (NKJV)

Observation

We were born with sin and will physically die with sin. Sin has and will be a part of our lives forever. There is no way around this fact. Having carry the weight of sin, we find ourselves powerless and weak. We also know the penalty for sin is death. But God didn’t want that for us, so God showed the ultimate love for us, while we are sinners, in that Jesus died for us! And because of that, we now have a the security to live forever and forever worship God!

Application

The verse itself tells us that we would never lay our life down for another, especially a “bad” person. And I know I cannot argue that. But Christ did do that. Showing my appreciation and living for Christ is the best thing I can do! I also must show others love in the way that Christ loved me. No, not by dying for them, but by forgiving them for any wrong they do against me. After all….didn’t Christ do that for us!

Prayer

Lord, thank You so much for eternal life through Your Son, Jesus! Thank You for loving me so much that You were willing to send Jesus to pay my penalty. I’m forever grateful. Help me to always remember that gift by extending the act of forgiveness to all, and loving others like You love me! In Jesus’ Name, I pray, Amen.

Leave a Reply

