Home » Bible Study » YAL: Week 5 – Monday: Psalm 84:11-12

YAL: Week 5 – Monday: Psalm 84:11-12

We begin the second half of our bible study with the theme of “You Can Trust Him”. Yes, we can trust God, no matter how hard it may be, God’s promises and His Word are nothing we ever need to doubt. All our scripture this week will show us how we can trust God. Let’s begin by looking at Psalm 84 and focusing on verses 11-12.

Scripture

10 Better is one day in your courtsthan a thousand elsewhere; I would rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my Godthan dwell in the tents of the wicked. 11 For the Lord God is a sun and shield;the Lord bestows favor and honor; no good thing does he withholdfrom those whose walk is blameless. 12 Lord Almighty,blessed is the one who trusts in you. (Psalm 84:10-12; NIV)

Observation

I added verse 10 because it reminded me of the song “Better  Is One Day” by Kutless, and I love when I recognize songs from scripture. I’m finding I’m able to recall a lot more scripture than I once could simply because of listening to it through song.

Looking at these verses, spending anytime with God is better than anything else we could ever think of, and when temptation sets in, we need to think about whose house we’d rather dwell in. These verses remind us that God is our sun and our shield, and that He doesn’t withhold anything from those whose walk is blameless. Trust in Him and see the goodness that is bestowed by Him.

Application

Being near to God in anyway we can is what is important. And how we each find that nearness can be very different and is very personal to us. I find I’m closest out in nature. When I hear the birds chirp, or when I see the beauty of winter changing to spring, and summer changing to fall. I feel the closeness as I watch the the ripples in the lake, or hear the wind chime softly singing. The sun’s warmth on my face, or the cool breeze at my back. My application is to really search out the ways in which I feel the closest to God, because it is in those place, I am sure to find Him.

Prayer

Lord, I am learning that I can be near You in many ways. Yes, I find You in Your Word, but You are showing me that I can find You in the everyday things that bring such joy and pleasure. Your creation goes far beyond me, but all I need to do is look out the window to see all You’ve created. Forgive me for taking it fore granted, and not opening my eyes to You, but instead grumbling. Help me to see that even when things are not going my way, You are there in everything! For I know this is true, because You show it to me everyday! May I always strive to spend time in Your House, Lord. In Jesus’ Name I pray. Amen.

Leave a Reply

