Home » Bible Study » YAL: Week 5 – Wednesday: Psalm 9:10

YAL: Week 5 – Wednesday: Psalm 9:10

Today, we celebrate the victories in what the Lord promises us, with the biggest victory being the trust we have in the Lord and the knowledge that we have never been forsaken!

Scripture

Those who know your name trust in you, for you, Lord, have never forsaken those who seek you. (Psalm 9:10; NIV)


God’s a safe-house for the battered,a sanctuary during bad times. The moment you arrive, you relax; you’re never sorry you knocked. (Psalm 9:9-10; The Message)


Observation

Amazing the comfort we find in both versions of today’s verse. The NIV reassurance that those who seek the Lord are never forsaken is followed by The Message reminding us that God is the safe place for all of us! It doesn’t matter what we bring, we are safe in the arms of the Lord! And knowing this safe-place, we can feel that instant relief and know with all our hearts that we made the right choice to come to the Lord.

Application

For me, God’s safety is found daily in His Word, and with daily devotions that remind me how close God is. However, it is not nearly just about reading, we must also obey and do what the Word says. Sometimes, that gets lost and we feel that by reading what God says is good enough. We should never settle, but always strive for more by applying!

Prayer

Dear Lord, What amazing promises You make to me. For I can rest in the assurance that no matter what comes my way, You will always be with me! I know I can trust You, and that I can always find You in Your Word. But I also know there comes the responsibility to take the action of the Word and not just read it. Lord, help me to take the action You desire, and not fool myself into thinking that I can know You simply by reading. In Jesus’ Name, I pray. Amen.

Leave a Reply

