Home » Bible Study » YAL: Week 5 – Thursday: Romans 8: 28, 30

YAL: Week 5 – Thursday: Romans 8: 28, 30

Today, we take a look at a part of scripture in which the Spirit assurances are noted. Let’s dig right in. I’ve included verse 29 just to keep with the flow of the verses.

Scripture

28 And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose. 29 For whom He foreknew, He also predestined to be conformed to the image of His Son, that He might be the firstborn among many brethren. 30 Moreover whom He predestined, these He also called; whom He called, these He also justified; and whom He justified, these He also glorified. (NKJV)

Observation

I love Halley’s Bible Study Notes on these verses:

Intercession of the Spirit (vv. 26–30). Not only is the indwelling Spirit our pledge of resurrection and future glory, but through His prayers in our behalf we are assured that God will make everything that has happened, and may yet happen, to us work together for our good. We may forget to pray—the Spirit never does. God will see us through. Let us never forget to trust Him.

I like how these verses remind me how all things (not some) work together for the good…for those who love God! We are chosen and called for a specific purpose…but we must remember…it’s God’s purpose. Everything we do is to honor and glorify God. And God gives everyone this chance to want to respond to the calling. We are not obligated. We do so because we want to do it for God. No other reason or justification can be made. And in that want, God makes sure that we are always equipped…even when everything seems to be unraveling before us.

Application

These verses challenge me to always realize that it’s never about me! It’s always about God and what He wants. I am His chosen, and my only goal should be pleasing God. However, I can rest easy knowing that I cannot meet the perfection God requires, but knowing I am His chosen one, I have the full grace and mercy of God!

Prayer

Lord, thank You so much for calling me to be a part of Your Kingdom to bring You glory and honor! I don’t know everything You have planned for me, but I do know that it is all for the good and to glorify You! I’m so grateful that I have the Holy Spirit to help me in my weakness. Lord, help me to put aside all notions that this is about me, and always put You first…as You do for me! I pray in Jesus’ Name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

