Home » Bible Study » YAL: Week 5 – Friday: John 10:28-29

YAL: Week 5 – Friday: John 10:28-29

Today’s scripture takes us into the Gospel of John. Jesus is in the temple and approached by some Jews, who ultimately want to stone Jesus. They don’t believe that He is God. Verse 27 tells of those who do believe, while 28-29 give the promise of eternal life to those that truly know Jesus. Verse 30 reminds us how God the Father and Jesus the Son are one.

Scripture

25 Jesus answered, “I did tell you, but you do not believe. The works I do in my Father’s name testify about me, 26 but you do not believe because you are not my sheep. 27 My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. 28 I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one will snatch them out of my hand. 29 My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all; no one can snatch them out of my Father’s hand. 30 I and the Father are one.” (John 10:25-30; NIV)

Observation

My biggest observation is that if you are not listening, or choose to hear something else, then we will never hear the true voice of Jesus. That being said, we also must not hear only what we want to hear, as the Jews did. As a follower of Christ, I want to hear what He is saying…for what He is saying. My reward for doing that, is eternal life…that I will never die. Yes, my physical body will die, but my soul will forever live. No one and nothing can ever take me out of God’s hand…no matter what they try and do to me, I will forever be His.

Application

I think the doing here is really important. We cannot simply listen to what is being said, but we must do what is being said. Action is what must be taken. Jesus is our teacher. He doesn’t teach anything that is false. And just because we may not like some of the lesson, that doesn’t mean that we can just forego them and march to our own teachings.

For me, I need to really stop and listen without drawing my own conclusions first! I also need to make sure I read scripture in proper context, otherwise, I conform it to what I want it to say.

Prayer

Lord, I know often I read things so quickly I miss their meaning. And worse, I think I can just breeze through reading scripture without really looking at the context and what You truly mean by it. But in all my faults, You still call me Your daughter! I am forever Yours! That brings such relief to me, Lord, as I know I can stumble and You’ll be there to help me up and help me to truly understand what it is You are teaching me. Help me to slow down enough to open my eyes and ears to Your Word in the way it is meant to be seen and heard. In Jesus’ Name, I pray. Amen.

Leave a Reply

