Home » Bible Study » YAL: Week 7 – Monday: 1 John 4:19-21

YAL: Week 7 – Monday: 1 John 4:19-21

Hard to believe that we are 6 weeks into our study! Don’t give up now…we still have 2 amazing weeks left! This week we are going to look at Kingdom Work. That is our theme. We’ll spend most of our time reading from the books and gospel of John.

Scripture

19 We love because he first loved us. 20 Whoever claims to love God yet hates a brother or sister is a liar. For whoever does not love their brother and sister, whom they have seen, cannot love God, whom they have not seen. 21 And he has given us this command: Anyone who loves God must also love their brother and sister.

Observation

What is the greatest commandment? It is to love one another as He has loved us. And because of His love for us, we are able to love our brothers and sisters. But these verses are very clear in one thing…that we cannot claim to love Him, and not love our brothers and sisters. Love is universal. If you have love, it’s because He gave it to us through His love for us. You cannot have that and still hate. So if you hate, then you never accepted His love.

Just because we are saved through our salvation doesn’t mean we are free to do and act how we want. We are still held accountable for our actions. And it is my belief that we are held to a higher accountability because we have agreed to turn our lives over to Christ, and therefore, we agree to follow Him and His commandments!

Application

So much easier said than done, but we are called to love everyone, and not cast or pass any judgement. For Christ died for us when we were sinners and forgave us. His love goes beyond anything we can give to another. We must love each other and pass that love on to each other.

But there are easy ways to do this. I think we tend to make it all more complicated than it truly needs to be. Smile at someone, say hello, offer a helping hand, just listen without interrupting, hold a door, allow someone to cut in front of you, show respect for others, say please and thank you. Ask yourself if Jesus would do that. I find I am amazed at what I can easily let go of out of the love He showed me. If you want that from others…then freely give it to others.

Prayer

Lord, often, I’m in such a hurry all I think about is myself. Often, when someone does something I don’t like, I hold a grudge, or I think something mean about them. I forget how You forgive me instantly, without any hesitation. Lord, I want that kind of love, yet I’m so unwilling to give it. Forgive me, Father. Help me to realize that everyone…not just those of my choosing…are entitled to love, and that if I truly love You, then I must love all. I pray in Jesus’ Name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

