Home » Bible Study » YAL: Week 7 – Friday: 1 John 3:23-24

YAL: Week 7 – Friday: 1 John 3:23-24

We end this week back in the book of 1 John. The chapter is just a mere 24 verses, but the message is so much more than that! I actually want to focus on the beginning of the chapter before getting to our SOAP verses.

Many of you may know the song, “Hello, my name is” by Matthew West. First time I heard that song I was like, yeah…that’s me! One who is bound by the chains of my past. But the amazing part about that song is that it tells us who we truly are…We are a child of the one true king! We are children of God’s! It’s one thing to hear it in a song, but another to read it in the bible.

See what great love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God! And that is what we are! The reason the world does not know us is that it did not know him. Dear friends, now we are children of God, and what we will be has not yet been made known. But we know that when Christ appears, we shall be like him, for we shall see him as he is. All who have this hope in him purify themselves, just as he is pure. ~1 John 3:1-3

Let’s continue with that thought as we dive into the last two verses of this chapter!

Scripture

23 And this is his command: to believe in the name of his Son, Jesus Christ, and to love one another as he commanded us. 24 The one who keeps God’s commands lives in him, and he in them. And this is how we know that he lives in us: We know it by the Spirit he gave us.

Observation

Two commands are given here, but they are not new. We are to believe in the Jesus, and love one another as He commanded us to do! For by doing that, we are given Him to remain inside of us through the Spirit! Believe and love…and if you truly love, then you cannot hate!

Application

I’ve really learned this week how I cannot claim to love and still have bitterness or hate. Hard pill to swallow sometimes, however, it should become so much easier when we think of the sacrifice God made out of pure love.

If there was any miniscule amount of hate for any of us, I cannot foresee Jesus dying for us. You don’t lay down your life and die for those you hate. It’s not my place to judge another. And if I love them, then I can leave all the judging to God…as it should be.

Prayer

Father, Your love is amazing and as your child I cannot thank you enough for caring so much that I would know You. Thank You for loving all of us and never showing us what hate was. Forgive us, Lord, for the hate we put on one another, and the distance we put between ourselves and You.

Lord, help me to continually see Your love and to freely pass it on to others no matter what. For You do that for me, and I want others to see You through me. I pray in Jesus’ Name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

