YAL: Week 3 – Friday: Lamentations 3:22-23

Things are bad but they might have been worse, and therefore there is hope that they may be better. That is what today’s scripture tells us. Let’s close out our 3 week of bible study by looking at a very unread (at least by me) book of the bible; Lamentations. There are three versions that I really liked, so I will share all three of them today.

Scripture

22 Through the Lord’s mercies we are not consumed, because His compassions fail not. 23 They are new every morning; Great is Your faithfulness. (NIV)


22 Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed,for his compassions never fail. 23 They are new every morning;great is your faithfulness. (NKJV)


22 How enduring is God’s loyal love;the Eternal has inexhaustible compassion. 23 Here they are, every morning, new!Your faithfulness, God, is as broad as the day. (The Voice)


Observation

I turn once again to the NIV Study Bible Notes for some clarification, however, both the NKJV and The Voice versions say what the NIV Study Bible Notes say. Great confirmation here.

3:22 great love. See v. 32. The Hebrew for this phrase is plural (as also in Ps 107:43) and denotes the Lord’s loving faithfulness to his covenant promises (see Ps 89:1). 3:23 They. The “great love” and “compassions” (v. 22) of the Lord. new every morning. (NIV Study Bible Notes)

I also really like Halley’s Bible Handbook Notes tell us, and amazingly, I know I have felt this same way at times:

Jeremiah’s Grief

In this chapter Jeremiah seems to be complaining that God has ignored him and his prayers (v. 8): “You have covered yourself with a cloud so that no prayer can get through” (v. 44). Though complaining, he justifies God, acknowledging that they deserved worse (v. 22). The high point of the book is verses 21–39.

But if there is just one thing we should take away from this week, it is the very opposite of what Jeremiah thinks and feels…God never ignores us and never hides Himself from us. That would go against all the promises God has ever made to us, and through these verses, we know that God’s love endures forever, and His mercies are new each morning! Great is God’s faithfulness. Unlike ours, it does not waver.

Application

I think God understands the complaining and frustration, which is why it’s so important to Him to show us how faithful He is. And each time He shows us, I feel our faith grows deeper and stronger. I need to reflect back on all the promises and the faithfulness that God has always shown. In my frustration, it’s important that I talk to God and not let the feeling overtake me so that the enemy can set in and place doubt inside of me.

Prayer

Lord, I know I complain often and sometimes think You are not near, although You have done nothing to show me that You are not. It’s all that self-doubt and the other voices that I listen to; forgive me Lord, for I know the only voice I should be listening to is Yours. Lord, as I close out this week of study, thank You for once again showing me all Your love, Your grace, and Your mercy. May I show that to others that are seeking to find You. I pray in Jesus’ Name. Amen.